Status Update about my Job Search

Since I’ve started this blog, I’ve been ranting about how difficult it is to get a job interview especially for someone who hasn’t worked for about 3 years.  I’ve started looking for jobs and sending out resume in the beginning of this year.  I became so desperate that in March,  I’ve paid about $1000 to Greig Well’s BeFoundFast to have them 1) inflate the # of my LinkedIn connections; 2)  improve my LinkedIn profile; 3) used their SEO techniques to get my resume onto the front page of Google; and 4)  get 1-month of free career coaching.  I just started getting job interviews this month (May) and I really don’t think it’s because of what Greig Well’s team did.

First, I befriended this Talent Acquisition from a company that I was applying for over the LinkedIn messages.  She was wonderful in that she gave me her time out of her busy schedule when no one would.  She shared with me how she reviews resumes and gave me pointers how I can improve my own so that I can get noticed by recruiters.

Second, I started praying novenas.  Just in case you don’t know what these are, they are  special prayers or services that you say or do for nine successive days.  I prayed to St. Joseph and St. Jude that I get a job soon so that I can start supporting my family.  After a few days of praying to St. Joseph, I received a phone call from one of the Big 4 accounting companies.  I’ve never applied to this company.  The recruiter, who I later became friends with, found my resume in one of the job boards.    Then as I continue praying my novenas to both St. Joseph and St. Jude, I get three more phone calls from other companies.  One I applied for, and the other two found my resume on  one of the job boards.  Even though, I haven’t secured a full-time job yet, I’m grateful for the two Talent Acquisitions that I befriended and the divine interventions from both St. Joseph and St. Jude for listening to my petitions.  Without their help, I don’t think that I would be able to get any phone interviews.

So, don’t fall for services such as Greig Wells, like I did, to help find a job.  Instead put your faith and trust in God and pray the novenas to St. Joseph and St. Jude.

May 17, 2017 – Status Update

I spoke with the recruiter from the Big 4 Accounting Companies (April 21st) about a month ago.  I had my interview with the manager two weeks later.  I thought the interview went well because he ended it by saying that I will be interviewing with people in his team.  One week after the interview (a month after I spoke with the recruiter), I received the DREADED REJECTION eMAIL.  It was sent yesterday evening at 9:21AM by the Assistant Director of Talent Acquisition for that firm, and I just opened it this morning, the day of my birthday.

Of course, I was disappointed by the news since I wasn’t expecting it.  I can let it affect me negatively, but I chose to take the up-side.  Even though the pay would be great, this job would require a lot of traveling every month (70-90%).  This would pose a lot of stress on my entire family especially on my husband since he wasn’t used to doing a lot of family and home management.  So, I considered this disappointing news as a blessing in disguise.  It wasn’t meant for me and my family.  There will be other opportunities that would be suitable for me and my family as long as the emails, phone calls and interviews continue coming in.  So far, we are making it through this month.  As always, I will continue praying the novenas and help myself by sending out resumes.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

