To my younger self,

The first year I was out of a job, I reflected on how my life was in the past, specifically during the time when my children were very young. I was a working mother that put in more than 40 hours a week outside the home. I discovered  that 1) I only cared for me and my family’s well-being.  2) I lived my life on my daily grind. 3) I outsourced many jobs to take care of my home and children. 4) I was very wasteful. 5) I never really thought about my own future.  If I never thought about my own future, then I can’t really make any plans.

Anyway, my advice before you start living your life on a daily grind, figure out what your immediate, 5-years, 10-years, 20-years, and long-term priorities are in life, what career/profession would make you happy, make plans towards these goals, and make them happen. Take advantage of all opportunities (ones that land on your lap and the ones that you have to look for).   Life is too short and you want to make the most of it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

