Discrimination based on Unemployment Status

I read an article written by Liz Ryan about a type of discrimination that job-seekers faced after the First Great Recession (2008-2010) in the 21st century called discrimination on the basis of employment status.  This was a practice of screening out qualified job applicants based on their unemployed status.  I truly believe that this is yet another obstacle (in addition to age discrimination) that I currently face as a Gen-Xer looking for a job at this time.  I perceive that I’m being overlooked by recruiters on the basis of my unemployment status. I have the required qualifications and work experience so why aren’t recruiters asking me for a phone interview?  To all current job-seekers, do you feel the same way?

 

Leave a Reply

