Age Discrimination on GenX Job-seekers

In June 2014, I was laid off from a Fortune 500 IT company after 15 years of service.   For the rest of the year, I had set-up my LinkedIn profile, updated my resume and subscribed to job-boards.  Each time I saw positions that I was interested in, I applied online.  I did this for 6 months and I received no phone calls.  I didn’t think much of it the first time until January of 2017.

2017 rolled in and I decided that it was time for me to go back to work.  In January, I looked and applied for jobs online.  I didn’t receive any phone calls.  At the end of January, I realized that maybe the reason why I wasn’t getting any phone calls was because of my age.  I read somewhere that employers want Millennials because they were technology savvier than the older generations.  So, in the beginning of February, I decided to update my resume and LinkedIn profile.  I deleted my college graduation year and 10 years of my work-experience.  I even colored my hair to cover-up my grays so that I can upload a recent photo of myself in my LinkedIn profile.  Additionally, I used professional services to write my resume and cover letter, and to update my LinkedIn profile so that I become more visible to recruiters.  Surprisingly, it’s only been two days after my update on my LinkedIn profile and I’ve received 2 phone calls from recruiters so far.

What I’ve learned through this experience is there is a thing called Age Discrimination during a job search. Even though there is a law, we can’t sue the recruiting company or hiring company because it would be very difficult to prove.  Liz Ryan wrote a great article called The Ugly Truth About Age Discrimination (http://www.forbes.com/sites/lizryan/2014/01/31/the-ugly-truth-about-age-discrimination/#308470d844e7).

 

Leave a Reply

